Enigma

photo from mymodernmet.com

Let me spill out my secrets to you -
entwine your heart with mine, and let my soul stand bare.



Men may think that they’ve had the entire sum of me,
but they’ve only had a quotient.
How I’ve longed to open my heart to them
and finally be vulnerable
to even go as far as turning a few leaves,
having them learn my life’s tales,
anticipating
that they’d be there for the next chapters.
Yet all they cared to do was glean over and skip,
take all the precious contents frivolous,
and leave me in the end
wishing I’ve never opened the book.

 

I wonder what’s it’s like to be able to share
the mysteries buried in the depths of me
to someone who can make all the trouble worthwhile.
 


I imagine the rivers of mysteries flowing,
and it creates such a beautiful sound.
 

Could it really be that beautiful?
 

Is it worth it exposing everything you are to someone?

 Would that someone not flee?
Would he not turn back down?
Would he stay even as the charade loses its thrill
and familiarity starts to breed its child?
 

Could there really be someone with a soul so beautiful
you’d stop looking at the physical
and feel like opening yourself up is the most natural thing in the world?

If my own sense is ever my ally,
then it must mean well when it says
that the person could be you.
You can be a cut above all the leaf-turners
who have set the alarms loud and red.
I can feel that you can simplify all the metaphors,
decode the enigma,
break down the equation,
and prove that it’s worth being done that way.
 


So let me spill my secrets, and please don’t just read the book.
Come sit with me and write the remaining chapters
'til all the stories are told
and the ink runs dry
and the leaves are no more.